Less is better

Thinking back to my earlier article about *What should I bring*, I realise now what a fool I’ve been in the past to think that more is better. In actual fact I realise now that less is better is so many ways I can’t imagine after selling off all my gear for a smaller set of equipment than I am used to.

Just like how you would attempt to compose less in an image you are trying to produce with your camera, the equipment in which you bring with you into the field bears a similar motto. The less time you spend fiddling with your lenses & gear, the better photos you will create.

I’ve said before that if I spent more time on shooting & learning from experience… not worrying about gear, I would have been a better photographer than I would be today. Folks who are into photography from the fairer sex take better photos than the guys because they don’t spend time worrying about why they can’t take a nice shot of the butterfly on the flower because they don’t have a macro lens…. the girls just go, look through the viewfinder… see something nice… then snap! They got a winner. We guys worry about what aperture to use, if our flash is powerful enough & whether your Benro tripod is as good as that shiny new Manfrotto at Hike you saw the other day… the butterfly would have flown away!!

If you are ever in doubt women made it big in photography, think again & click on *Women in photography*.

So much for the bubble bursting paragraph I just had to rant about… Nowadays I bring bare essentials as shown in the photo. Sorry the 50mm was on my camera which I used to take this photo. If I bring the 50mm & telephoto, I leave my ultra-wide at home. If I bring the ultra-wide, I’ll leave the telephoto at home… so on & so forth, you get the idea. After all the writing I did on *artificial lighting* & *why your camera doesn’t matter*, I seem to have to eat my own words, because I have yet to actually use my flash unit to the max simply because the low light shooting capabilities of the 5Dmk2 is so freakin awesome it’s like nothing I’ve ever experienced before. Damn….and I thought I was pretty proud of those two articles lol! So at times I don’t even bother with bringing the flash unit… unless perhaps I need to shoot events which so far seem to be rare for me. I’m a more natural light kinda person.

I leave my elcheapo Fancier China made flimsy tripod in my car in those rare instances I needed some stability. If you’re thinking Fancier tripods aren’t very stable… well I took all the long shutter shots at the *Carnival* with it. Did they seem anyway ‘not’ sharp to you? I would have actually missed some of these shots had I used my Manfrotto because I can set up the Fancier much faster & be ready to take the next shot much more quickly.

So here’s a list of pros when you go light…

1. Better mobility / Less weight – I carry about 1/2 the normal weight I carried when I was on my older system. I can move around easier & I get fatigued less frequently & go for hours shooting.

2. Less time thinking what to bring – I bring at the most 2 lenses. Sometimes I just bring my 50mm. Almost all the photos I took in my *Guess where* album was taken using the 50mm alone.

3. Ability to focus on creating the image – What is the most important thing in photography? The photo!… Duh!!

4. Better visualization skills – If you don’t get this, see my previous article.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Knowing your gear « What I see, How I see… - May 11, 2011
